|The twelve Baltard pavilions|
|St Germain des Prés|
In 1190, King Philippe-Auguste built walls around the city to protect it from invaders such as the Vikings in the past and his Plantagenêt cousins, the kings of England, in the future. He also moved the central market to the location where it would stand for 800 years. Two covered pavilions were constructed to make the market more sanitary and from then on the district became a blend of similar pavilions and regular shops. The market came in very handy when the Louvre, part of the city’s fortifications, became the royal residence under King Charles V in the 14th century. Now that the king was in the neighborhood, it was even more important for food to be handy, for his many feasts. Gradually more and more merchants arrived to supply both the court and the ordinary citizens, and Les Halles became Zola’s Ventre de Paris, the Belly of Paris.
|Baltard pavilions, by Doisneau|
|Forum des Halles|
|Fontaine des Innocents|
|Eglise St. Eustache|
This is the third in a series about Les Halles, which is undergoing yet another total re-make. The buildings that were eventually built on the site of Baltard’s pavilions have now been torn down and a whole new concept will gradually become the new reality of this old neighborhood.
Part 1 - Aw, Rats! (March 9)
Part 2 - Doisneau - Paris Les Halles (March 15)
Part 3 - A brief history (March 18)
Part 4 - The modern projects (March 21)